• 1.jpg
  • 2.jpg
  • 2slideshow.jpg
  • 3.jpg
  • 5.jpg
  • 7.jpg
  • 8.jpg

Governance Structure

 Delamere Academy is part of the North West Academies Trust. Details about the Trust and the Governance structure of North West Academies can be found at the following link:  The North West Academies Trust.

NWAT has the power to monitor the role of the Academy at an operational day-to-day level and review:

  • The management and organisation of the Academy
  • The implementation of the decisions of theHead of School
  • Performance in relation to targets and standards
  • The implementation of policies monitoring student welfare and behaviour
  • The implementation of policies
  • The implementation of all extended school activities.

Terms of Office and Register of Interests

North West Academies Trust

The school has been part of North West Academies Trust since November 2018.

Contact details: Mr Steve Docking, The Coach House, Union Street, Chester, CH1 1QP. Tel: 01244 566167.

The trust is a charitable body offering advice, support, expertise and a strategic overview to several academies in Cheshire.

North West Academies Trust Board

The Governance structure for The Delamere CE Primary Academy is as follows; Governors are all Directors and serve a term of office for four years for a maximum of two terms. Governors are selected by application and interview, and our Governing body has a mixture of different people with different key skills. However, all Governors share a common goal and purpose in that they want the very best for the pupils who attend.

Governors and staff at the school are very aware of their integrity in relation to'The Seven Principles of Public Life'.


Members of the Governing body

Chair of Governors: Kirsty Cobb- Parent Governor   Address for correspondence: Mrs Kirsty Cobb, Chair of Governors, The Delamere Academy, Stoney Lane, Delamere, CW6 0ST

E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Vice Chair of GovernorsJames Fountain- Parent Governor

Sir John Timpson: 
Sir John Timpson is a highly successful businessman, author, columnist and founder of the Timpson Foundation. He is a governor at Delamere CE Academy. John has previously been a trustee at Uppingham School in Rutland, Brookway High School in Wythenshawe, and Terra Nova School in Cheshire. Until its merger with the NSPCC, John was a trustee of ChildLine

Rev. Elaine Ollman- Revd Elaine Ollman BTh – Rector of Delamere.  Before ordination Revd Elaine worked for over 20 years in school administration the final 16 years as PA to the Headteacher, School Bursar and Clerk to the Governing Body of a Local Authority Primary School for children with Special Needs.  In addition to her theology degree and ordination training she has undertaken a wide range of courses including Bereavement Counselling and Pastoral Listening she has her British Sign Language Level 2 certificate. Elaine also sat as a Magistrate on the Wirral Bench for ten years.  

Robin Ackerley- 
Born in school house in 1940. Parents both taught at Delamere School. Father head 1935-1953, mother head 1954 - c 1970. Own career in teaching, last 27 as head of English in mixed grammar school in Bexley, Kent. Relevant interests: knowledge and love of the area and deep concern for maintenance of standards in education.

Richard Wallis: Richard is a former pupil of the school, local businessman and also a former Lawyer. Richard now sits as a magistrate on the Cheshire Bench. 

Julie Roberts-Joyce- Parent Governor- Julie has worked in secondary education for over 25 years as a secondary school teacher, senior leader and GCSE and A Level examiner. She left to take up a consultancy role in inclusive education and SEND for a local authority. She has a degree in History and the  NPQH.  She chairs the Education and Mission Committee

Lyn Withinshaw- Church Governor

Pamela Entwhistle- Parent Governor

Caroline Jones- Teaching Assistant- See staff profile

Julie Clayton – Head of School- See staff profile

Ricky Huddart - Assistant Headteacher - See staff profile

We also operate the following subcommittees:

Education and Mission – Terms of Reference
Chair: Julie Roberts-Joyce


Julie Clayton – Head of School 

Ricky Huddart - Assistant Headteacher 

Finance and Premises – Terms of Reference
Chair: James Fountain

Richard Wallis

John Timpson

Julie Clayton -Head of School

Other committees are formed as and when required from the local Governing body to manage other aspects of the schools work. The local Governing body offers challenge and support in equal measure to ensure that Delamere Academy maintains high performance in all areas and offers children a great learning experience.

Accounts – NWAT limited

All academies have to produce audited accounts which must be submitted to the EFA and displayed on the school’s website. Our auditors are Hacker Young, Chester.


You are here: Governance Governance Structure